Brazilian Jiu Jitsu

jiu jitsu 1 (640x640)

So… I’ve enrolled Little Yum-Yum into Brazilian Jiu Jitsu classes. The main reason is because he was being bullied at school. Now, don’t get me wrong, I am not saying he should just go and start random fights. I just want him to know how to defend himself. He was in a really dark place at one point, not wanting to go to school, crying, clinging on to me, crying out in his sleep, plus more (which I will not go into) whilst the teachers denied what was happening.

I never backed down, and met with the headteacher after sending the school a couple of emails. The bullying was finally acknowledged, and has now (hopefully) been dealt with once and for all. I will not sit by idly, and not say a word just to please others. My son comes first.

I chose this particular type of training, as it teaches discipline, wellness, confidence (not that he’s not confident already!) and self-defence. On top of this, it’s fun! He attends three times a week, so during the summer break (which is seven weeks this year), he will still be able to interact with children his age and make some new friends.

So far, he’s really enjoying it and keeps asking if he can go every day.

jiu jitsu 2 (480x640)

Kids Classes

Enhance self-defence
Get fit, strong and flexible having fun
Learn the GB (Gracie Barra) Self-Defence and Anti-Bullying System
Increase focus, energy and concentration
Improve social skills and make new friends
Get a better understanding of goal-setting and working towards them
Become a champion of small, medium and major tournaments
Attend competition training

Gracie Barra Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Academy

21 thoughts on “Brazilian Jiu Jitsu

  1. dreamymichaela says:

    Hi Persia! That’s great that he is enjoying his sessions with the Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, as well as how it’s helping him deal with the bullying at school. Embracing a martial art is a good, holistic (whole body involvement) activity to add to one’s life…teaching so much more than only self-defence and being fit. Emotional, social, and spiritual benefits as well. Great photo, too! I love the tongue sticking out – hahaha!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. NickyB. says:

    Sorry to hear about the bullying. That is horrible and nothing that any child should go through. I’m in the process of looking up potential places for my daughter to get self defense training. Hope your son continues to do well in his Jiu Jitsu classes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Persia says:

      Thanks, Nicky. When I initially told the teachers, they told me the children were playing. There is a massive difference between playing and bullying, and I expect the teachers to be able to know this. I am very disappointed to say the least, but I managed to get them to admit it in the end. They’re very lucky I was able to contain the Kraken in me! You could check out where Max goes. They’re worldwide https://graciebarra.com. If you decide to go on vacation, and there is one close to where you are, you can still attend. Let me know how you get on. x

      Liked by 1 person

    • Persia says:

      Exactly, Tony. I was very careful with the type of Martial Art I chose for him. I want him to be able to contain himself, and have the discipline to walk away from a fight if need be – not to start one. They have a creed, which Max has to adhere to. He must not use the physical aspect for the sake of using it. Only if he really needs to defend himself.

      Like

    • Persia says:

      Thanks, Derrick. I don’t know what is going on with mainstream schools these days. They just don’t seem to care and love to brush issues under the carpet. Well not with my son. Not on my watch. I saw my son go from a happy and hyper little boy, to a flinching, crying mess. It broke my heart. I have confirmation the bully will be in a different class to that of Max in the new academic year. The teachers/headteacher has felt the sharpness of my tongue; I will assume things will be better next time around. I really appreciate your comment. Thanks again

      Liked by 1 person

  3. weggieboy says:

    Good for you! Not addressing Max’s problem as an adult way would make him, potentially, the perpetual victim. This will help him learn self-control and help him with improved self-confidence. The hard part – convincing the adults at his school of the problem – is done!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Persia says:

      Many thanks! I don’t think the school was quite prepared for me. However, now they know I do not mess about. The good thing is, I did it in a way where I didn’t shout/cuss, but in a diplomatic, calm way. I wanted to get the point across, but also to let them know I am not ignorant. So yes, the convincing part is done! I think Max will do well with Jiu Jitsu; he’s so excited to go, and is confident enough now to leave me in reception during his lessons. (I had to sit in the class before). He’ll get there. He has great support … our WP Family!! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • weggieboy says:

        Too often, parents don’t involve themselves in situations where they have the most to lose if they dont, the safety of their children. I am impressed with your determination to make Max’s world one where he is welcome and respected! Hugs across the seas for a really top rate Mommy! Max is very lucky to have you. Tell Mr. M. Andy and Dougy know he will do well in his classes to learn jiu jitsu because they are kitty boys and they know a winner when they see one! “RAWR!”

        I don’t know if this will play in the UK, but here’s a little kitty story about Louie the ginger kitty, my best kitty before I got Andy and Dougy. I hope Maximus enjoys it (if he hasn’t seen it before….) https://youtu.be/T0hQB-fYEIM

        Liked by 1 person

      • Persia says:

        Exactly. I couldn’t just shrug it off. I didn’t see the bullying itself, but Max’s behaviour was changing and I didn’t like it. The other day, an older child (not the bully) told Max he had to respect him. I marched right up to him and asked him why. He also said my son annoyed him. So I said “My son doesn’t have to respect you if you don’t respect him. It works both ways. Also, you find him annoying? Well, he finds you annoying too, and so do I. And if I find you bother my son, I will report you”. Needless to say, he now stays away from Max. I wear the sternest face in that playground!
        We watched the clip together. RIP Louie. You were a very beautiful kitty indeed.

        Liked by 1 person

Please feel free to leave a comment